Use Case

„Virtual Realities“

The project researches, develops, tests and evaluates selected VR applications over 5G networks, e.g. streaming of 360° videos and new forms of immersive media, such as volumetric data (point clouds). These applications require and test both the high data rates and the extremely low delay times of 5G networks, in the downlink (streaming to a VR glasses) as well as in the uplink (streaming live content from a 360° camera away). In addition, edge computing components are used, which 5G provides to achieve higher presentation quality and faster response times of the VR system when a user moves/interacts. VR systems are being developed which allow to demonstrate the power of 5G.

Contact person:

Univ.-Prof. DI Dr. Hermann Hellwagner hermann.hellwagner@aau.at
Phone: +43 463 2700 36 03

 

Institute:

Department of Information Technology (ITEC)

University of Klagenfurt (AAU)

Use Case

„Communication in Swams“

The aim of the project is to build up know-how in the field of future communication networks, such as 5G. Specifically, an evaluation of a swarm of drones and ground robots communicating over a 5G network and jointly performing specific tasks is carried out. The robots are not controlled centrally, but organize themselves independently on the basis of exchanged information (e.g. position, sensor, multimedia data) and with the help of swarm algorithms. Edge computing is necessary for processing the sensor data, since individual swarm members do not have enough computing capacity. Scenarios in which such autonomous swarms can be used Search and rescue missions, monitoring tasks for the protection of critical infrastructures, logistics scenarios, etc.

Contact person:

DI Dr. Christian Raffelsberger raffelsberger@lakeside-labs.com
Phone: +43 463 28 70 44 77

 

Institute:

Lakeside Labs GmbH

Use Case

„Communication in Swams“

The aim of the project is to build up know-how in the field of future communication networks, such as 5G. Specifically, an evaluation of a swarm of drones and ground robots communicating over a 5G network and jointly performing specific tasks is carried out. The robots are not controlled centrally, but organize themselves independently on the basis of exchanged information (e.g. position, sensor, multimedia data) and with the help of swarm algorithms. Edge computing is necessary for processing the sensor data, since individual swarm members do not have enough computing capacity. Scenarios in which such autonomous swarms can be used Search and rescue missions, monitoring tasks for the protection of critical infrastructures, logistics scenarios, etc.

Contact person:

DI Dr. Christian Raffelsberger raffelsberger@lakeside-labs.com
Phone: +43 463 28 70 44 77

 

Institute:

Lakeside Labs GmbH

Use Case

„Smart City“

The term Smart City encompasses a broad cross-sectional topic with various fields of knowledge starting from Smart Sensors, Smart Grids up to Smart Cities and Smart Regions. The information and communication technology part is seen as a fundamental element and serves as a basis for management tasks such as decision making when planning resources or selecting measures to optimize the eco-balance.

The aim of the Smart-City Use-Case is to research applications that can be operated more efficiently by means of 5G mobile phone technology or that can be realized at all. Prototypes developed from these applications will be tested in field tests in the spatial environment of the 5G playground Carinthia.

Contact person:

FH-Prof. Dr. Helmut Wöllik woellik@fh-kaernten.at
Phone: 05 90500 3131

 

Institute:

Carinthia University of Applied Sciences, Study Course Network and Communication Technology

Use Case

„Wireless Industrial Robotics“

– Use of 5G in the environment of mobile robot systems

To be able to perceive the environment comprehensively, robot systems use different sensor technologies. At present, all required sensors are permanently installed on mobile robots. Sometimes, however, it makes sense to use special sensor technology directly at the workstations, for example, in order to be able to optimally detect the environment, perform a task or guarantee safety. The use of 5G technologies makes it possible to make these sensors dynamically accessible to the robot at those locations where they are needed. There are many different sensor technologies that have special requirements regarding bandwidth, latency and reliability for 5G connectivity. On the one hand, cameras require a high bandwidth, real-time data transmission is not absolutely necessary. On the other hand, safety-relevant sensors do not require high bandwidths, but data transmission is highly time-critical and must be reliable. These two extremes must be combined in a wireless 5G network.

For the first time, 5G also enables the use of edge computing. Here, data processing is outsourced to a geographically nearby data center or to computing capacities directly at the 5G transmitter station in order to keep communication paths and thus also latency low. This technology is particularly interesting for computationally intensive functions such as object recognition, which is currently limited to the on-board computing capacity of mobile robots.

Contact person:

DI Dr. Bernhard Dieber bernhard.dieber@joanneum.at
Phone: +43 316 876-2008

 

Institute:

JOANNEUM RESEARCH Forschungsgesellschaft mbH, ROBOTICS – Institute for Robotics and Mechatronics

Use Case

„Wireless Industrial Robotics“

– Use of 5G in the environment of mobile robot systems

To be able to perceive the environment comprehensively, robot systems use different sensor technologies. At present, all required sensors are permanently installed on mobile robots. Sometimes, however, it makes sense to use special sensor technology directly at the workstations, for example, in order to be able to optimally detect the environment, perform a task or guarantee safety. The use of 5G technologies makes it possible to make these sensors dynamically accessible to the robot at those locations where they are needed. There are many different sensor technologies that have special requirements regarding bandwidth, latency and reliability for 5G connectivity. On the one hand, cameras require a high bandwidth, real-time data transmission is not absolutely necessary. On the other hand, safety-relevant sensors do not require high bandwidths, but data transmission is highly time-critical and must be reliable. These two extremes must be combined in a wireless 5G network.

For the first time, 5G also enables the use of edge computing. Here, data processing is outsourced to a geographically nearby data center or to computing capacities directly at the 5G transmitter station in order to keep communication paths and thus also latency low. This technology is particularly interesting for computationally intensive functions such as object recognition, which is currently limited to the on-board computing capacity of mobile robots.

Contact person:

DI Dr. Bernhard Dieber bernhard.dieber@joanneum.at
Phone: +43 316 876-2008

 

Institute:

JOANNEUM RESEARCH Forschungsgesellschaft mbH, ROBOTICS – Institute for Robotics and Mechatronics

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION YOU CAN ALWAYS CONTACT US.

We use the data provided by you exclusively for processing and for the duration of processing your request.

Was ist 5G?

 

5G ist die 5.Generation des Mobilfunks. Sie basiert technologisch auf der seit 100 Jahren bekannten Funktechnologie.

Seit 100 Jahren gibt es Radiosender, seit 70 Jahren Fernsehsender und seit rund 40 Jahren den Mobilfunk. Die aktuelle 4. Generation des Mobilfunks – LTE - wurde bereits im Oktober 2010 im 2,6GHz in Österreich in Betrieb genommen.

Die 5. Generation des Mobilfunks (5G) ist also eine Weiterentwicklung der bestehenden Technologie und wird sich nahtlos in die bestehende Technik einfügen. Sie bringt aber völlig neue Möglichkeiten mit sich.

Use Case

„Communication in Swams“

Ziel des Projekts ist der Aufbau von Know How im Bereich zukünftiger Kommunikationsnetze, wie z.B. 5G. Konkret erfolgt eine Evaluierung eines Schwarms aus Drohnen und Bodenrobotern, die über ein 5G-Netz kommunizieren und gemeinsam bestimmte Aufgaben erledigen. Die Steuerung erfolgt dabei nicht zentral, sondern die Roboter organisieren sich selbstständig auf Basis ausgetauschter Informationen (z.B. Positions-, Sensor-, Multimedia-Daten) und mit Hilfe von Schwarmalgorithmen. Für die Verarbeitung der Sensordaten ist Edge-Computing nötig, da einzelne Schwarmmitglieder nicht genug Rechenkapazität aufweisen. Szenarien, in denen solche autonomen Schwärme eingesetzt werden können: Search-and-Rescue-Einsätze, Monitoring-Aufgaben für den Schutz kritischer Infrastrukturen, Logistikszenarien, etc.

Ansprechpartner:

DI Dr. Christian Raffelsberger raffelsberger@lakeside-labs.com
Tel.: +43 463 28 70 44 77

 

Institut:

Lakeside Labs GmbH

Use Case

„Smart City“

Der Begriff Smart City umspannt ein breites Querschnittsthema mit verschiedenen Wissensgebieten ausgehend von Smart Sensors, Smart Grids bis hin zu Smart Cities und Smart Regions. Der informations- und kommunikationstechnische Anteil wird dabei als grundlegendes Element angesehen und dient als Basis für Managementaufgaben wie z.B. Entscheidungsfindung bei der Planung von Ressourcen oder Auswahl von Maßnahmen zur Optimierung der Öko-Bilanz.

Ziel des Smart-City Use-Cases ist es, Anwendungen zu erforschen, die mittels der 5G-Mobilfunktechnologie effizienter betrieben oder überhaupt erst realisiert werden können. Daraus entwickelte Prototypen sollen im Rahmen von Feldtests im räumlichen Umfeld des 5G Playgrounds Carinthia auf ihre Einsetzbarkeit untersucht werden.

Ansprechpartner:

FH-Prof. Dr. Helmut Wöllik woellik@fh-kaernten.at
Tel.: 05 90500 3131

 

Institut:

Fachhochschule Kärnten, Studiengang Netzwerk- und Kommunikationstechnik

Use Case

„Wireless Industrial Robotics“

- Einsatz von 5G im Umfeld von mobilen Robotersystemen

Um die Umgebung umfassend wahrnehmen zu können verwenden Robotersysteme unterschiedliche Sensortechnologien. Auf mobilen Robotern sind derzeit sämtliche benötigte Sensoren fix verbaut. Mitunter ist es jedoch sinnvoll, z.B. auch direkt an den Arbeitsplätzen spezielle Sensorik einzusetzen, um die Umgebung optimal zu erfassen, eine Aufgabe zu erfüllen oder Sicherheit gewährleisten zu können. Der Einsatz von 5G-Technologien macht es möglich, diese Sensoren dynamisch für den Roboter an jenen Orten zugänglich zu machen, an denen sie benötigt werden. Dabei gibt es unterschiedlichste Sensortechnologien, die spezielle Anforderungen bzgl. Bandbreite, Latenz und Verlässlichkeit an eine 5G-Konnektivität stellen. Einerseits benötigen Kameras eine hohe Bandbreite, eine Datenübertragung in Echtzeit ist nicht unbedingt notwendig. Andererseits erfordern sicherheitsrelevante Sensoren keine hohen Bandbreiten, die Datenübertragung ist aber höchst zeitkritisch und muss verlässlich erfolgen. Diese beiden Extreme gilt es, in einem drahtlosen 5G- Netzwerk zu vereinen.

5G ermöglicht erstmals auch die Nutzung von Edge Computing. Dabei wird die Datenverarbeitung auf ein geografisch nahegelegenes Rechenzentrum oder auf Rechenkapazitäten direkt an der 5G- Sendestation ausgelagert, um die Kommunikationswege und damit auch die Latenz gering zu halten. Diese Technologie ist insbesondere für rechenintensive Funktionen wie die Objekterkennung interessant, welche bei mobilen Robotern derzeit auf die OnBoard Rechenkapazität beschränkt ist.

Ansprechpartner:

DI Dr. Bernhard Dieber bernhard.dieber@joanneum.at
Tel: +43 316 876-2008

 

Institut:

JOANNEUM RESEARCH Forschungsgesellschaft mbH, ROBOTICS – Institut für Robotik und Mechatronik

Use Case

„Wireless Industrial Robotics“

- Einsatz von 5G im Umfeld von mobilen Robotersystemen

Um die Umgebung umfassend wahrnehmen zu können verwenden Robotersysteme unterschiedliche Sensortechnologien. Auf mobilen Robotern sind derzeit sämtliche benötigte Sensoren fix verbaut. Mitunter ist es jedoch sinnvoll, z.B. auch direkt an den Arbeitsplätzen spezielle Sensorik einzusetzen, um die Umgebung optimal zu erfassen, eine Aufgabe zu erfüllen oder Sicherheit gewährleisten zu können. Der Einsatz von 5G-Technologien macht es möglich, diese Sensoren dynamisch für den Roboter an jenen Orten zugänglich zu machen, an denen sie benötigt werden. Dabei gibt es unterschiedlichste Sensortechnologien, die spezielle Anforderungen bzgl. Bandbreite, Latenz und Verlässlichkeit an eine 5G-Konnektivität stellen. Einerseits benötigen Kameras eine hohe Bandbreite, eine Datenübertragung in Echtzeit ist nicht unbedingt notwendig. Andererseits erfordern sicherheitsrelevante Sensoren keine hohen Bandbreiten, die Datenübertragung ist aber höchst zeitkritisch und muss verlässlich erfolgen. Diese beiden Extreme gilt es, in einem drahtlosen 5G- Netzwerk zu vereinen.

5G ermöglicht erstmals auch die Nutzung von Edge Computing. Dabei wird die Datenverarbeitung auf ein geografisch nahegelegenes Rechenzentrum oder auf Rechenkapazitäten direkt an der 5G- Sendestation ausgelagert, um die Kommunikationswege und damit auch die Latenz gering zu halten. Diese Technologie ist insbesondere für rechenintensive Funktionen wie die Objekterkennung interessant, welche bei mobilen Robotern derzeit auf die OnBoard Rechenkapazität beschränkt ist.

Ansprechpartner:

DI Dr. Bernhard Dieber bernhard.dieber@joanneum.at
Tel: +43 316 876-2008

 

Institut:

JOANNEUM RESEARCH Forschungsgesellschaft mbH, ROBOTICS – Institut für Robotik und Mechatronik

FÜR WEITERE INFORMATIONEN KÖNNEN SIE UNS JEDERZEIT KONTAKTIEREN.